May 2018 Book Club

Next Meeting: May 21, 2018 at 6 pm

Title: Before We Were Yours (Reading Guide)
Author: Lisa Wingate

Summary:

(From Goodreads)
 
Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize that the truth is much darker. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together—in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions—and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

 

Upcoming Book Club Selections:

 

Suggestions welcome.


Previous Book Club Books:

April 2018 Plainsong by Kent Haruf

March 2018: The Magic of Ordinary Days by Ann Howard Creel

February 2018: The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare

January 2018: A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck

December 2017: Skipping Christmas by John Grisham

November 2017: Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal

October 2017: Delicious by Ruth Reichl

September 2017: The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlain

August 2017: Down the Long Hills by Louis L’Amour

July 2017: The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

June 2017: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

May 2017: The Glass Kitchen by Linda Francis Lee

April 2017: Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick

March 2017: The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

February 2017: Across Five Aprils by Irene Hunt

January 2017: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

December 2016: A Redbird Christmas by Fannie Flagg

November 2016: 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

October 2016: Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

September 2016: The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult

August 2016: Apple Turnover Murder by Joanne Fluke

July 2016: The Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig by Jonathan Eig

June 2016: A Painted House by John Grisham

May 2016: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

April 2016: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

March 2016: Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

February 2016: Anne of Green Gables

January 2016: A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty

December 2015 : The Mistletoe Promise